Homeschooling – The law in Indiana

August 20th, 2010 by Nate

All kinds of opinions exist as to the regulations and laws as it relates to homeschooling. The HSLDA has an excellent page on this. I will be focusing in this article about the laws in the State of Indiana were we reside.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice.

Indiana is one of the least regulated States when it comes to homeschooling. Indiana is a no notice state. Unless your child is already in the public school system you do not need to notify anyone that you are homeschooling. You simply do it. If your child is already in the public school system you need to provide the school a letter informing them that your child will be educated elsewhere. That is it.

In Indiana you do NOT have to register your child. There exists a page on the Indiana Department of Education providing a form to register. It is not required. The form is here for anyone who is curious.

The compulsory ages for education in Indiana are from 7 to 18, unless the student graduates early or drops out at 16 or 17. The school year is generally 180 days.

All non-public schools are exempt from the 180 days requirement. Homeschools are treated as private schools in Indiana based on case law. According IC 20-33-2-20, parents are required to keep attendance records in case the State Superintendent or local school system Superintendent wishes to verify enrollment of a particular child.

No specific subject requirements exist for homeschools, but the education must be provided in English. The only other requirement is that the “provided with instruction equivalent to that given in public schools” (IC 20-33-2-28). What is equivalent cannot be determined by the Board of Education. For multiple reasons it is probably a good idea to keep records of a child’s progress and not just attendance.

Each State has its own requirements when it comes to home education. I suggest checking out the HSLDA’s page on this at http://www.hslda.org/laws/default.asp as well as check out your own state Department of Education web site. Some state web sites can be a bit inaccurate, so I would verify the information provided there with the HSLDA, state and local homeschool groups, and the law itself.

Homeschooling is legal in all 50 states of the United States. As with anything like this do your homework on it before you begin.